obsession

(a resignation of a phd student)
Very quickly after your initiation in the academic world, you learn that being “too honest” about your work is a bad thing and that stating your research’s shortcomings “too openly” is a big faux pas. Instead, you are taught to “sell” your work, to worry about your “image”, and to be strategic in your vocabulary and where you use it. Preference is given to good presentation over good content
http://crypto.junod.info/2013/09/09/an-aspiring-scientists-frustration-with-modern-day-academia-a-resignation/

(zizek as analysand, on sessions with miller:)
It was my strict rule, my sole ethical principle, to lie consistently: to invent all symptoms , fabricate all dreams. It was obsessional neurosis in its absolute purest form. Because you never knew how long it would last, I was always prepared for at least two sessions. I have this incredible fear of what I might discover if I really went into analysis. What if I lost my frenetic theoretical desire? What if I turned into a common person?
http://linguafranca.mirror.theinfo.org/9810/zizek.html

does not this resigning PhD student practically say that all academia is striving to be obsessives like zizek, finally to become good hegelians focusing on conceptual “form” instead of “content”?

Leave a Reply

